All field notes

AI in Schools

Superhuman absorbs GPTZero, Canva lands inside Scotland's Glow

By Brodie McGee ·

Digital Attitudes, 28 June 2026

The Sunday read is one acquisition that quietly retires the second largest standalone AI detector into a productivity company's keyboard, one Australian founded design platform that has just skipped per school selling and walked straight into another country's national school tenant, and one accessibility tool whose new AI voice typing layer drops into every text field on iOS and Mac at no extra cost.

Superhuman buys GPTZero and folds AI detection into the writing stack

Julie Bort at TechCrunch reported on Tuesday 23 June that Superhuman (the email and productivity company formerly known as Grammarly) has agreed to acquire AI detection startup GPTZero, with terms not disclosed. GPTZero comes to the deal with 19 million registered users, AUD$45 million (USD$30 million) in annual recurring revenue, and a profitable trading record going back to 2024, against total funding of only AUD$20 million (USD$13.5 million) across a seed and a Series A. Founder Edward Tian built the original detector as a Princeton senior thesis three years ago. Superhuman's framing on the deal is that "two AI detectors are better than one," and the integration plan is that GPTZero's technology will sit inside Superhuman Go, the AI assistant Superhuman has been pitching as the layer that runs across "one million apps and websites." TechCrunch on Superhuman acquiring GPTZero, 23 June.

Why this matters: For vice chancellors and deputy vice chancellors (academic) at the universities that disabled Turnitin's AI detector through the first half of the year (Curtin in January, ACU and Macquarie not far behind, the Sydney two lane framework already in production), the read is that the second major standalone detector has just been folded into a productivity company whose business model is the writing assistant, not the integrity gateway, and the procurement question on the next renewal cycle is whether the institution buys a detector at all or whether the rule is now "the writing tool the student uses is the writing tool the institution licenses." For school principals and heads of digital learning writing the school's term 3 academic integrity paper against the AISWA Nurture pilot the Sunday brief priced a week ago and the Future Campus call to audit the verifying rather than the verification the Friday brief carried, the operational read is that GPTZero was the no cost fallback every Australian school AI policy document quietly named as the non Turnitin option, and that fallback has just walked behind a paywall as a bundled feature inside an email writing assistant. For ed-tech vendors selling standalone AI detection into Australian institutions (Originality.ai, Copyleaks, Pangram, Winston AI), the procurement read is that the category leader's exit signal is the bundle, and the standalone pitch deck now answers a buyer whose own writing tool vendor will soon offer the same check for free.

Canva walks into Scotland's Glow with the AI switch on every council desk

Emma Thompson at EdTech Innovation Hub carried the Canva and Education Scotland announcement on Wednesday 25 June that Sydney founded design platform Canva has joined Glow, the Scottish government's national digital learning platform, as an opt in service across all 32 Scottish councils. Glasgow City Council is the first authority confirmed to take it up. Teachers and students with a Glow account can request access through their local authority, premium design tools are free at the point of use, and the AI features inside Canva are switched on or off by the council rather than the school. The footprint already inside Scotland's Glow tenant before the deal: 109,000 users and 1.38 million designs. Donna McMaster, Education Scotland's chief executive: "Local authorities will have the flexibility to determine how and when the service is introduced, including decisions around the use of AI features." Jake Steadman, Canva's UK Country Manager: "For the first time, every teacher and student in Scotland will have access to the same powerful creative and AI tools, regardless of where they go to school." The Step Two education programme inside Canva that the deal sits under now has 50 million education users across the UK and Europe, every school in Poland, Türkiye and Slovenia already on the tenant. EdTech Innovation Hub on Canva joining Scotland's Glow as councils take control of AI access, 25 June.

Why this matters: For state Department of Education chief information officers and procurement leads writing the next Canva renewal against the AUD$50 million plus the eight state and territory systems collectively pay creative ed-tech vendors a year, the operational read is that Canva has just skipped the per school sale entirely in another national jurisdiction by going through the central platform layer, and the question the next paper answers is whether the Australian equivalent (a per state agreement with the AI feature switch held at the state department level) gets locked in before Canva's pricing for the bundled AI suite resets, or whether the AI switch stays with the individual principal as it does today. For Catholic system AI implementation leads and independent school heads writing the term 3 AI tooling list, the Scottish council level "AI switch" governance model is the cleanest single template available for who in the school's own structure holds the AI on or off call on a tool the staff have already opted into without the system office knowing, and the question the term 3 conversation answers is whether the AI feature gate moves from individual teacher to system office before the next student data incident makes it move at speed. For Australian ed-tech founders watching Canva's distribution path (Education Perfect, Stile, Atomi, Maths Pathway, Cluey Learning), the read is that the largest Australian founded education product on the market got to 50 million education users by selling at the national platform level, not the per school level, and the distribution lesson the next pitch deck has to acknowledge is that the school by school sales path is the slower one regardless of how good the product is.

Speechify pushes AI voice typing into every text field on iOS and Mac

Emma Thompson at EdTech Innovation Hub also covered the Speechify product wave on Friday 26 June, the launch of Voice Typing on iOS (as a custom keyboard) and Mac (as a desktop application reached through a dock microphone button), an AI dictation layer that converts speech into edited text inside third party apps. The model "removes filler words, adjusts grammar and punctuation, and restructures spoken phrases," which is the part that lifts the launch above the existing iOS native dictation, and the dictation function is described as unlimited at no cost (pricing on premium features not disclosed). The accessibility positioning Speechify named at launch sits on dyslexia and ADHD; the dictation surface works across email, documents, messages, Google Classroom, Notion, and ChatGPT. EdTech Innovation Hub on Speechify launching AI dictation across iOS and Mac apps, 26 June.

Why this matters: For school leaders and learning support coordinators writing the term 3 NCCD evidence pack and the reasonable adjustment register against the existing Read&Write, Texthelp Equatio and ClassMate licences the school carries, the operational read is that Speechify's no cost AI voice typing keyboard now sits inside the student's iPad as a system level input method (not as an open in this app workflow), and the question the next Disability Standards paper answers is whether the school's existing adjustment list still names a paid third party dictation tool as the recommended option or whether the OS keyboard plus the AI clean up layer is the new baseline. For NESA, the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority and the South Australian Certificate of Education authorities writing the next exam adjustment paper, the operational read is that AI cleaned dictation output (filler removal, grammar reflow, restructured phrasing) is a new question the existing exam scribe policy does not answer, and the question the next paper has to settle is whether the AI edited output still counts as the student's own composition for a senior secondary writing assessment. For ed-tech vendors selling premium accessibility software into Australian schools (Texthelp's Read&Write, Crick Software's Clicker, Don Johnston's Co:Writer), the procurement read is that an unlimited free AI dictation keyboard inside the student's existing iPad changes the next contract conversation, and the vendor whose own pitch deck cannot show what the paid product gives the learning support team that the no cost system keyboard does not is the one whose term 4 renewal moves down the list.


The Sunday thread is that the ed-tech distribution path has moved upstream this week, the detector has folded into the productivity stack, the design tool has walked into the national platform rather than the school staff room, and the accessibility AI has dropped into the operating system keyboard. More on the operational read at digitalattitudes.com.au.

More field notes